Who doesn’t love a good Pot Noodle? Filled up with warmth and flavour, they are fantastic for a quick meal when you don’t have time to spare in the kitchen. They’re a UK favourite – but are Pot Noodles vegan?
The answer isn’t as straightforward as you might think, as it does somewhat depend on the types of Pot Noodle you’d like to eat. Keep reading, and I’ll break down everything you need to know.
Are Pot Noodles Vegan Friendly?
Yes, some Pot Noodle flavours are vegan. In fact, many of the meat-flavoured snacks available in the line contain zero animal products – meaning you’re safe to go ahead, fill up, and enjoy.
Which Pot Noodles Are Vegan?
Some Pot Noodles are vegan based on ingredients alone – while others are actually labelled as such. You’ll be able to enjoy the following Pot Noodles based on vegan ingredients:
- Beef and Tomato
- Sweet and Sour
- BBQ Pulled Pork
- Jerk Chicken
- Sticky Rib
- Japanese Miso Noodle Soup
- Piri Piri Chicken
- Bombay Bad Boy
- Chinese Chow Mein
The added bonus is that both Piri Piri Chicken and Japanese Miso Noodle Soup are labelled as vegan, giving you extra confidence.
Sadly, popular flavours such as Chicken and Mushroom and Original Curry aren’t vegan – as some products, such as milk powder, go into their production.
As an example, here’s the ingredients for the Bombay Bad Boy Pot Noodle:
Bombay Bad Boy Pot Noodle Ingredients UK
Noodle mix (96%): Dried noodles (62%) [WHEAT flour (contains calcium carbonate, iron, niacin, thiamin), sunflower oil, salt, firming agents (potassium carbonates, sodium carbonates)], maltodextrin, WHEAT flour, curry (cumin, turmeric, coriander, cayenne pepper, pepper, aniseed, cinnamon, fennel seed, ginger, lovage root, allspice), yeast extract, garlic powder, sweetcorn, peas1, sugar, onion powder1, palm fat, soy sauce powder [maltodextrin, salt, soy sauce (SOY, WHEAT)], salt, flavourings, BARLEY malt extract, potato starch, acid (citric acid), paprika. Sauce sachet (4%): Chilli sauce (water, spirit vinegar, modified corn starch, salt, cumin, flavourings, cayenne pepper).
Despite the fact that most Pot Noodles are technically vegan – and that some are listed as such – does that mean they’re vegan certified?
Are Pot Noodles Vegan Certified?
Both the Piri Piri Chicken and Japanese Miso Noodle Soup are marked with the vegan V-Label. However the other flavours are not certified vegan. This is due to the way that they are produced and the possibility of cross-contamination.
For example, some products such as Chicken and Mushroom Pot Noodles may be made in the same factory environment as Bombay Bad Boy Pot Noodles.
Therefore, if you really want to play it safe, it may be worth avoiding those Pot Noodles altogether, or at least looking for vegan alternatives (more on those a little further down).
Why Some Pot Noodles Aren’t Vegan
Although many the flavours mentioned above do not contain any animal products, that does not mean that some may not find their way into them. Therefore, even by eating a seemingly vegan Pot Noodle, you run the risk of consuming animal products.
Not all Pot Noodles are vegan. Many of them still contain eggs, milk, and even some meat extracts. And, since all Pot Noodles are made in the same factories, even their accidentally-vegan recipes do have the potential to be cross-contaminated with those that aren’t.
Always make sure to check the ingredients labels of any Pot Noodles you buy – as you never know what may be lurking in the mix. For absolute peace of mind, look for the vegan certified label.
Further Considerations for Vegans
If you are considering eating Pot Noodles, then it is important to note that many of the flavours contain palm oil.
While palm oil is a plant-based product, the sheer environmental and animal impact that the retrieval of palm oil has led many vegans to avoid the product whenever possible. For example, palm oil extraction can lead to the destruction of habitats for animals such as orangutans.
So, while some Pot Noodles are perfectly fine for most vegans, this can be a big reason for leaving them behind and making your own – or, at least, looking for a palm oil-free alternative.
Vegan Alternatives to Pot Noodles
You may consider cooking up Super Noodles as an alternative to Pot Noodles if you’re worried about animal products and environmental impacts. However, while Super Noodles can be great options for vegans, much like Pot Noodles, not all flavours are vegan.
The same applies for many supermarket-own Pot Noodles – many follow the same processes and can use similar ingredients.
However, if you are looking for flavourful, quick and easy-to-prepare noodles, then why not try to make them yourself? Check out these DIY versions from Vegan Recipe Club!
Nowadays, it is easy to find eggless noodles in supermarkets everywhere. Then, it’s just a case of pairing them with your favourite vegetables and flavourings!
That way, you can be sure there are no trace amounts of foods you want and/or need to avoid – not to mention the quality of them being fresh!
Verdict: Are Pot Noodles Vegan?
In short, yes, certain Pot Noodle flavours can indeed be classified as vegan.
However, do bear in mind that while we may consider them vegan, they cannot be certified as such due to the potential for cross-contamination with other non-vegan pots.
Always read the back of the label and check for vegan certification before you boil that kettle and tuck in!
FAQ
Are Chicken and Mushroom Pot Noodles vegan?
Unfortunately Chicken and Mushroom Pot Noodle is not vegan as it contains milk powder.
Are Beef and Tomato Pot Noodles vegan?
Yes, Beef and Tomato Pot Noodle is vegan as it doesn’t contain any animal derived ingredients. Although they are made in the same factory as non vegan products so they are not vegan certified due to cross contamination risk.
Are Curry Pot Noodles vegan?
No, Curry Pot Noodle isn’t vegan as it contains cheese powder (made from milk).
Are Sticky Rib Pot Noodles vegan?
Yes, Sticky Rib Pot Noodle is vegan as it doesn’t contain any animal derived ingredients. Although they are made in the same factory as non vegan products so they are not vegan certified due to cross contamination risk.
Are Bombay Bad Boy Pot Noodles vegan?
Yes, Bombay Bad Boy Pot Noodle is vegan as it doesn’t contain any animal derived ingredients. Although they are made in the same factory as non vegan products so they are not vegan certified due to cross contamination risk.
Please note: While full care has been taken to provide accurate information at the time of writing, manufacturers may change the ingredients of their products art any time. Please always check the label yourself before consuming.
I’m the founder and editor-in-chief at GetVedgy. As a former meat eater who only recently made a commitment to veganism, I’ve spent a lot of time over the last couple of years researching the subject. It felt like a good idea to share what I’ve learnt and help to answer the questions I’ve had that no doubt many others’ will also have.